THE NISARGADATTA GITA BY PRADEEP APTE

10. Immortality is freedom from the

feeling ‘I am’, to have that freedom

remain in the sense ‘I am’, it’s simple,

it’s crude, yet it works!

The feeling ‘I am’ is dormant at birth, it appears
spontaneously say around the age of three. It is the
essence of the five elements that make up the body
or the food body. The body is a limitation, and as
long as the ‘I am’ identifies itself with the body
there is no chance of freedom, and death is certain.
Eternity or immortality is possible only when you
are free from the ‘I am’. For this freedom to accrue
you have to be after the ‘I am’, understand it, abide
in it and transcend it. Judging from the enormous
amount of spiritual literature available, the
understanding, abidance and transcendence of the
‘I am’ appears to be too simple and crude a
‘Sadhana’ or practice, yet it works!
 
Source: HolyBooks
Leave a Reply

